Welcome, Guest. Please Login
YaBB - Yet another Bulletin Board
  These Forums are for Peer Support. For direct and immediate support, use the Live Chat or Support Ticket System
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
What I learned about customs fees and eBay (Read 279 times)
Stacks_o_Books
Ex Member

What I learned about customs fees and eBay
Oct 11th, 2014 at 8:43pm

Let me preface this by saying that I've been selling on eBay for over 11 years. I've shipped items all over the world through a variety of venues. Almost all have been trouble-free. This morning I woke up to a message from a UK buyer, upset because the Royal Mail was holding his $50 item until he paid about $22 in customs fees. After threatening negative feedback because according to him, I didn't state in my listing that international buyers were responsible for customs fees, he suggested I refund him the cost of the fees as a "goodwill gesture." I find it hard to have a lot of goodwill in my heart after being threatened!

Fact is, indirectly, I DID state the buyer is responsible for those fees. I have a link in my listings directing international buyers to a "Complete Payment and Shipping Info" page link (set up through my eBay store) and on that page is that very statement. Strike one.

Then I called eBay, told them my tale of woe, and asked for their suggestion on how to handle this. They said it is their SOP on all transactions that the buyer pays those fees - never the seller - unless they use eBay's Global Shipping Service. I told them the buyer was threatening negative feedback, and they told me that if they did leave a neg, I could call and have it removed. Strike two.